Connect with us


APC Wins Imo Senatorial Election

A photograph mixture of Senator Ifeanyi Araraume and Mr Frank Ibezim.



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of the simply concluded Imo North senatorial district bye-election however unable to return any APC candidate.

The returning officer, Hakeem Adigun who introduced the consequence mentioned the APC scored a complete of 36, 811 votes to beat his rival from the Peoples Democratic Party, Emmanuel Okewulonu who scored 31, 903 votes.

According to the electoral physique, the choice to not declare any candidate because the winner is because of a number of court docket orders authenticating the true candidate of the celebration within the bye-election.

It may very well be recalled that 24 hours to the election, a Court of Appeal sitting in Owerri gave a judgment disqualifying Ifeanyi Ararume as APC’s candidate.

On the identical day, a Federal High Court sitting in Abuja additionally disqualified Frank Ibezim from contesting the election.

Ibezim was disqualified on the grounds that he made false statements/declarations within the affidavit and paperwork submitted to the APC.

READ ALSO: INEC Declares APC’s Abiru Winner Of Lagos East Senatorial Election

Meanwhile, Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodimma, has reacted to the end result of the election the place INEC declared APC the winner of the election with out returning any candidate.

Speaking to journalists on the Government House in Owerri, Uzodinma thanked the folks of the senatorial district for voting overwhelmingly for the APC, noting that the victory has proven as soon as once more that Imo is an APC state.

Governor Uzodinma, nonetheless, mentioned he is not going to be part of any points with INEC, including that with the latest Court of Appeal judgment and the assertion from the APC National Executive Committee, Frank Ibezim is the genuine candidate.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *