Connect with us

Latest Aproko

BREAKING: Channels Television Emerges Best TV Station For The 13th Time

Channels TV staff on the rostrum to obtain the NMMA Best Television Station Of The Year at an occasion in Lagos on December 15, 2019.



Channels Television has emerged winner of the Nigerian Media Merit Award (NMMA) for Best Television Station Of The Year for the 13th time, extending its report in that class.

The award-winning station bagged the honour which recognises media excellence in Nigeria on Sunday at a ceremony which held on the Muson Centre in Lagos.

Channels Television’s General Manager (Special Duties), Mr Steve Judo, led a staff of workers members to the occasion to obtain the award on behalf of the organisation.

Others in attendance embody the Controller of Programmes, Mr Ambrose Okoh, and Channels TV Presenter, Gimba Umar.

Meanwhile, Channels Television’s political correspondent, Seun Okinbaloye, gained the Television Programme Presenter of the Year.

The award is among the quite a few recognitions Channels Television has acquired in Nigeria and globally for its programming, with an viewers of greater than 20 million individuals inside and outdoors the nation.

Prior to the newest feat, Channels Television final gained the Best Station of the Year in 2017.

This is along with claiming the prize in 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016.

Elsewhere, TVC’s Mike Okwoche gained the Television Newscaster of the Year.

In the print class, the Punch Newspaper beat the Guardian Newspaper and Daily Trust to win the Babatunde Jose Prize for the Newspaper of the Year.

But Abraham Ogbodo of the Guardian Newspaper bagged the Dele Giwa Prize for Editor of the Year, beating Nasir Abubakar of Daily Trust and the Punch’s Martin Ayankola.

In the same growth, a former governor of Ogun State, Olusegun Osoba, in addition to a advertising communications practitioner, Biodun Shobanjo, had been recognised for an expert life devoted to media excellence and repair to the nation.

Earlier, the chairman of NMMA Panel of Assessors, Professor Ralph Akinfeleye, gave an evaluation of the entries submitted.

He famous that there have been increased entries in comparison with final yr and careworn the necessity for thorough enhancing and high quality management by editors.

Professor Akinfeleye decried that a number of the entries submitted for numerous classes lacked depth, focus, concern, and information angle.

The awards had been handed out in additional than 51 classes, with a majority within the print class.

The occasion was effectively attended by dignitaries, in addition to younger and veteran media practitioners within the nation.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *