Connect with us

Latest Aproko

Okonjo-Iweala Named Forbes Africa Person Of The Year


Nigeria’s former Finance Minister and a candidate for the workplace of the Director-General of the World Trade Organisation (WTO), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has been named Forbes Africa Person of the Year 2020.

Forbes Africa introduced this on Tuesday by way of a put up on its official deal with @forbesafrica.

“The 2020 #AfricanOftheYear Award honoree is…Congratulations to Dr. @NOlweala! Board Chair @Gavi; Board Chair @ARCapicity, gracing the cover of @forbesafrica,” the tweet learn.

The 2020 #AfricanOftheYear Award honoree is…

Congratulations to Dr. @NOlweala! Board Chair @Gavi; Board Chair @ARCapicity, gracing the duvet of @forbesafrica

— Forbes Africa (@forbesafrica) December 1, 2020

Okonjo-Iweala in response mentioned she is thrilled to be honoured and to be following the footsteps of her brothers Paul Kagame of Rwanda and Nigeria’s Femi Adesina.

“Thrilled to be named @forbesafrica-CNBC 2020 African of the Year following in the footsteps of my great Brothers @PaulKagame and @akin_adesina,” the  66-year-old mentioned.

READ ALSO: Okonjo-Iweala: WTO Postpones Selection Meeting For DG

Okonjo-Iweala additionally devoted the award to fellow Africans dealing with the socio-economic impression of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“This award is for fellow Africans suffering the health & economic impact of Covid19. The energy and resilience of Africans inspire me!” she added.

Thrilled to be named @forbesafrica -CNBC 2020 African of the Year following within the footsteps of my nice Brothers @PaulKagame and @akin_adesina. This award is for fellow Africans struggling the well being & financial impression of Covid19. The power and resilience of Africans evokes me!

— Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala (@NOIweala) December 1, 2020

Okonjo-Iweala’s joined the record of eminent Africans to have obtained the award.

In 2019, Akinwumi Adesina, president of the African Development Bank (AfDB), received the award for his excellent work on the financial institution and a sterling profession in agriculture and finance.

Paul Kagame of Rwanda received the identical prize in 2018.

Other eminent Nigerians to have bagged the award are Muhammad Sanusi II (2011), former governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; Aliko Dangote (2014), president of the Dangote Group.

Sanusi received the primary version in 2011, Adesina has claimed the gong twice — 2013 and 2019, whereas Okonjo-Iweala can also be the primary Nigerian girl to be honoured with the prize.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *