Connect with us


Ronaldo Beat Messi, Lewandowski, Others To 2020 Golden Foot Award

A file photograph of Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo. AFP


Juventus striker, Cristiano Ronaldo has overwhelmed archrival, Lionel Messi, Roberto Lewandowski and eight others to say the 2020 Golden Foot Award, changing into the 18th winner of the trophy launched in 2003.

The 35-year-old Portuguese ahead obtained the best votes from followers to bag the prize reserved for excellent gamers in Europe who’re above 28.

“Fans and supporters from all over the world have chosen the best footballer of 2020, awarding the 18th Golden Foot Award to Cristiano Ronaldo,” the organisers stated in a press release on its web site, confirming the previous Manchester United participant because the winner of the 17-year-old award.

“The star of Juventus and the Portuguese national team received the highest number of votes among the 10 contenders selected this year.”

READ ALSO: Arsenal Boss Arteta Backs Temporary Substitutes For Head Injuries

Ronaldo – who has gained the Ballon d’Or awards 5 occasions– was nominated alongside Messi, Lewandowski, Neymar, Mohamed Salah, Sergio Ramos, Gerard Pique, Sergio Aguero, Giorgio Chiellini and Arturo Vidal.

He netted 37 targets and 6 assists in 46 matches in the course of the 2019/2020 marketing campaign, a high-quality kind that noticed him shortlisted for the 2020 FIFA Awards.

A ⚪️⚫️ @GoldenFootMC awards double!

The first version of the Golden Foot Prestige is awarded to President Andrea Agnelli 🥇@Cristiano is the winner of the 2020 Golden Foot Award 🥇

👏👏👏👏 #ForzaJuve

— JuventusFC (@juventusfcen) December 1, 2020

Equally, the president of the Turin facet, Andrea Agneli, scooped the primary Golden Foot Prestige prize.

“He is thus one of the most successful presidents in the history of
international football,” the organisers added.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, they defined that the event has, “prevented the running of the 2020 awards ceremony and its traditional gala evening which usually takes place in the heart of the Principality of Monaco. We will therefore send you a press release to announce the details of the awards for this edition.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *