Connect with us


UPDATED: Sadio Mane Crowned African Player Of The Year

Senegal winger Sadio Mane speaks after successful the Player of the Year award throughout the 2019 CAF Awards within the Egyptian resort city of Hurghada on January 7, 2020. Khaled DESOUKI / AFP



Senegalese striker and Liverpool star Sadio Mane has been topped because the 2019 African Player of the Year.

The 27-year previous Senegalese striker claimed the highest prize for the primary time on Tuesday on the 2019 CAF Awards ceremony held in Egypt.

Mane beat his Liverpool teammate Mohamed Salah of Egypt who received the award the final two years, in addition to Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City).

READ ALSO: Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala Wins African Women’s Player Of The Year

However, neither Salah nor Mahrez attended the occasion.

Giving his acceptance speech, Mane mentioned, “I am really happy and at the same time I am really proud to win this award. It’s a big day for me.”

According to CAF statistics, the Senegalese scored 34 targets and made 12 assists in 61 appearances final yr.


In the feminine class, Super Falcons’ Captain Asisat Oshoala was named because the 2019 African Women’s Player of the Year.

Oshoala, who performs for Spanish aspect Barcelona, beat Ajara Nchout of Cameroon and South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana, who was topped in Senegal final yr to say the title.

It is the fourth time the 25-year-old is being topped the most effective African feminine footballer.

She received the award in 2014, 2016 and 2017, and was additionally among the many ultimate three in 2018 however misplaced to her South African rival Kgatlana.

Shortly after she was introduced because the winner, Oshoala took to Twitter to thank her household and mates, in addition to her followers and colleagues regionally and internationally for his or her help.

Grateful to be African Women’s Player of the yr for the 4th time. Thank God, my Family, Friends and Fans for the help. Big shoutout to my membership , my administration , crew mates at each nationwide crew and membership stage and naturally due to @CAF_Online for the chance ❤️❤️🙏🏾

— ASISAT M.O.N (@AsisatOshoala) January 7, 2020


Other male awards have been claimed by Algerian coach Djamel Belmadi, Algerian Youcef Belaili for African Interclubs Player of the Year and Algeria’s nationwide crew.

The feminine awardees have been South African coach Desiree Ellis, and Cameroon’s ladies nationwide crew.

The award for the youth class was given to Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi of Borussia Dortmund.

The Egyptian Football Association received the Federation of the Year award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *